When is an Employee Paid Double Time?
The Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) has no requirement for double time pay (see statement), but the California Department of Industrial Relations does.
California workers are legally entitled to double time pay in two cases. First, when the hours worked in one day exceed 12, then they are paid double time for every hour worked thereafter. Second, if an employee works seven consecutive days, then for the first 8 hours on that seventh day they are paid time and a half, but for each additional hour, they are paid double time.
From the US Department of Labor Website: “Any work in excess of 12 hours in one day and any work in excess of eight hours on any seventh day of a workweek shall be paid no less than twice the regular rate of pay.”
If you are in California, calculating overtime for your employees, let us do it for you! Timesheets.com is an online time tracking software that takes the headaches out of time calculations. Our software can be configured for complicated California rules and you’ll never have to think about it again!